You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience and security.
The George Washington University
university, Washington, District of Columbia, United States

The George Washington University

university, Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Alternative Title: Columbian College

The George Washington University, private, coeducational institution of higher learning in Washington, D.C., U.S. It consists of the Columbian College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, the Elliott School of International Affairs, the National Law Center, the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, and schools of business and public management, engineering and applied science, and education and human development. There is a campus for graduate studies and research in Loudoun county, Va. The university offers a comprehensive range of undergraduate, master’s, doctoral, and professional degree programs. George Washington is home to the Institute for European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies and the Space Policy Institute. Total enrollment is approximately 19,000.

The U.S. Congress granted a charter for the university in 1821. It was then known as the Columbian College. The original impetus for a university in the District of Columbia had come from George Washington, who felt the capital city should have a national university. The school attained university status in 1873; the current name was adopted in 1904. Past students of the university have included F.B.I. director J. Edgar Hoover and U.S. senator J. William Fulbright. Edward Teller and George Gamow conducted important research in nuclear physics while on the faculty of George Washington University.

This article was most recently revised and updated by Amy Tikkanen, Corrections Manager.
The George Washington University
Additional Information
Your preference has been recorded
Step back in time with Britannica's First Edition!
Britannica First Edition